Die Foren-SW läuft ohne erkennbare Probleme. Sollte doch etwas nicht funktionieren, bitte gerne hier jederzeit melden und wir kümmern uns zeitnah darum. Danke!

Fusion on MacOs with Solaris 10 as virtual Host

VMware auf dem MAC

Moderatoren: irix, continuum, Dayworker

Member
Beiträge: 2
Registriert: 29.01.2008, 00:02

Fusion on MacOs with Solaris 10 as virtual Host

Beitragvon mpardemann » 29.01.2008, 00:31

Hi @all,

i'm using vmware fusion on my mac book pro with MacOs 10.5.1. In my virtual machine runs Solaris 10 11/06.
The installation of Fusion and Solaris was without any problems.

Now i try to connect both system over bridged network but i cannot connect them together.

Mac:
vmnet8: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
inet 172.16.155.1 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 172.16.155.255
vmnet1: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
inet 172.16.6.1 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 172.16.6.255

Solaris:
pcn0: flags=1000843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST,IPv4> mtu 1500 index 2
inet 172.16.6.100 netmask ffffff00 broadcast 172.16.6.255
ether 0:c:29:9a:f1:89

from this point it seems to be ok. During the installation of the vmware tools, the message that the vmxnet driver will not be installed because of e1000g is not supported.

I tried to install Solaris 10 in 64Bit and 32Bit Vmware Environment, same problem, only the interface on 64Bit is e1000g.

What can i do ? Some help for discussion would be nice.

Thanks in advance.

Benutzeravatar
Moderator
Beiträge: 14745
Registriert: 09.08.2003, 05:41
Wohnort: sauerland
Kontaktdaten:

Beitragvon continuum » 29.01.2008, 02:54

Why not force
ethernet0.virtualDev = "e1000"
for all involved nics ?

Solaris should work good with e1000

Don't listen to the manuals when they claim e1000 is for 64bit only

Member
Beiträge: 2
Registriert: 29.01.2008, 00:02

Beitragvon mpardemann » 29.01.2008, 11:30

i changed in the vmx file the interface to e1000. after reboot i have no interface now.

i probed changes in the files /etc/name_to_major and driver_aliases (changing pcn to e1000) without success.

any suggestions ?

Experte
Beiträge: 1425
Registriert: 11.08.2004, 17:08
Wohnort: Paderborn

Beitragvon MSueper » 30.01.2008, 19:25

that is due to changing of hw.
do the following as root:

-1- reboot -- -rv
-2- cd /etc
ls -l hostname.*
rename that file to hostname.e1000g0 if existend
ls -l dhcp.*
rename that file to dhcp.e1000g0 if it exists
use
mv old new
to rename file old to new.

If you intend to use ethX instead of eth0, replace the e1000g0 by e1000gX
Martin


Zurück zu „Fusion“

Wer ist online?

Mitglieder in diesem Forum: 0 Mitglieder und 2 Gäste