Das Forum wurde aktualisiert. Wurde höchste Zeit. Wenn etwas nicht funktioniert, bitte gerne hier jederzeit melden.

NetWare 6 Installation auf VMWare 4.5

Hilfe bei Problemen mit der Installation und Benutzung der VMware Workstation.

Moderatoren: Dayworker, continuum, Tschoergez, irix, stefan.becker

Member
Beiträge: 2
Registriert: 14.07.2004, 20:35

NetWare 6 Installation auf VMWare 4.5

Beitragvon cortez » 14.07.2004, 20:49

Hallo,

ich habe die Installation von NetWare 6 auf VMWare 4.5.2 versucht.
Leider funktioniert es nicht so, wie ich das gerne hätte... :(
...wäre ja auch langweilig... :lol:
Vielleicht sitze ich schon zu lange vor dem Bildschirm und sehe den Wald vor lauter Bäumen nicht, oder es ist wirklich ein Problem...
hier also die Daten bzw der Weg bis zum Fehler:

auf einem
Dell Latitude D600 Intel Pentium M Processor 1,7 GHz
1 GB RAM
MS Win XP Prof SP1

VMWare 4.5.2 Build 8848
installiert

meine Wegbeschreibung für:
Netware 6 Installation

New Virtual Machine
Virtual machine configuration: Custom
Guest Operating System: NetWare 6
Virtual machine name: NetWare 6
Memory: 512 MB
Network connection: Use bridged networking
I/O adapter types: SCSI Adapters: LSI Logic
Disk: Create a new virtual disk
Virtual Disk Type: IDE
Disk capacity: 4 GB
Disk file: NetWare 6.vmdk

CD eingelegt
Start virtual machine
IDE CD ROM
Select install in english
Accept License Agreement
Create New Boot Partition
First Hard Disk- size of disk: 4086 MB, boot partition: 200 MB, free space: 3886
reboot
das war's- Hinweisfenster: No bootable CD was detected

Einstellung im VMWare Bios- Boot-
1. CD ROM, 2. Harddisk, 3. Removeable Device, 4. Network boot
IDE CD ROM
Formatierung beginnt
Bricht aber sofort wieder ab-

Fehlermeldung:
This Pentium class machine (or greater) lacks some required CPU feature(s)
NETWARE 6 CANNOT BE RUN ON THIS MACHINE!!!
Command or filename not recognized
Filename too long
Z:\INSTALL>


vielleicht hat jetzt jemand nach dem Motto 'Ist doch ganz klar- kein Problem'- :idea: DIE Lösung. Oder zumindest einen Vorschlag.
Ich bin für alles dankbar.... :)

Ich seh nur noch Bäume.... :shock:

thx im voraus
cortez

Benutzeravatar
Moderator
Beiträge: 14674
Registriert: 09.08.2003, 05:41
Wohnort: sauerland
Kontaktdaten:

Beitragvon continuum » 14.07.2004, 21:02

Hi
frag mich bloss nicht nach Details - ich habe erst einmal Netware installiert - ich weiss nur dass du bei der Meldung ein Pentiumpatch von der Novell Webseite brauchst.
Ich habe das mal imUS Forum gelesen - die Suchfunktion dort funktioniert jetzt wieder - vielleicht findest du was. Such mal nach Netware6 Pentium Patch

Ulli

Moderator
Beiträge: 317
Registriert: 02.03.2004, 22:50
Wohnort: Im Urlaub bis 02.08.2004
Kontaktdaten:

Netware 6 in VMware installieren.

Beitragvon HartmutSchaumburg » 15.07.2004, 05:53

Hallo,

mach mal genau, was hier steht:

Here's the Beef.
The following describes the special steps that Roger documented and you need to follow in order to install NetWare 6 as a guest OS under VMware Workstation 3.0:

What you need.
A host PC running WinNT4, Win2K or WinXP
384mb RAM or more
VMware Workstation 3.0.0, build 1455 (release code)
An eval version can be downloaded from http://www.vmware.com/download/workstation.html
You'll also need to register for an eval license.
A floppy with NW5-IDLE.NLM handy.
You can download this from http://www.vmware.com/software/Nw5-idle.nlm

Create a new Virtual Machine
In the New VM Wizard, choose Custom
Choose 'Other' as the Guest operating system
Enter a name for the VM (ie. 'NW6' and a folder to place the virtual disk file
Specify at least 192mb of memory for VM
Choose a network connection type (I used NAT, others may work as well)
Create a virtual disk of an appropriate size (usually the default 4gb)
OPTIONAL: Use the Configuration Editor and remove the USB Controller
OPTIONAL: Specify an ISO image of NW6 for the CDROM drive, if you have it.
This will speed installation of the OS.
Exit VMWare

Edit the VMWare configuration file
load the config file (ie. c:\VMs\NW6\NW6.vmx) into an editor
Find the guestOS="other" line and change the value to "netware6".
This will allow the PAE mode of NetWare 6 to be accepted by VMware.
Add a new line beneath the guestOS line as follows:
svga.8bitonly="true"
This will ensure that VMware doesn't complain about running in an 8-bit video mode.

Save the file

Change the display mode of the HOST OS
You need to change your host OS' color depth to 256 colors (8-bit) during the install of NetWare. Once you're done installing it, however, you can go back to using gazillion colors.

Install NetWare 6
Start VMware and the new Virtual Machine.
Start the NetWare 6 installation as usual, either from a NW6 CD or from an ISO image if you have one.
As soon as possible after the install begins, insert a floppy with the NW5-IDLE.NLM, ALT-ESC switch to the console, and type
LOAD A:\NW5-IDLE.NLM
When NetWare tries to load the LAN driver (use PCNTNW.LAN), it will fail because it broadcasts for its own IP address (doing an ARP?) and then hears its own packets. This causes IP networking to fail.
You can get around this by ALT-ESC switching to the System Console and entering

SET ALLOW IP ADDRESS DUPLICATES=ON

Alternatively, you can LOAD MONITOR !h, go into Server Parameters, Communications, and find the above parameter and set it to ON.

Now, ALT-ESC switch back to the GUI install screen and retry loading the LAN drivers.


Install the NetWare CPU Idle NLM
copy NW5-IDLE.NLM to SYS:SYSTEM and to C:\NWSERVER in your Guest OS.
load it from AUTOEXEC.NCF as early as possible.

Once installed, you can switch your HOST OS color depth back to what it was.
Things to be aware of:
If you run in full screen mode and NetWare switches to graphical mode, you sometimes get the Windows taskbar at the bottom. This seems to be a problem with Windows.

Reader Feedback:

Serafin Gonzales

During the installation, when the Java Graphic appears in the monitor, the installation on my machines seemed to hang. I tried it twice with the same result. After 10 minutes, the installation really did hang and stopped functioning. The third time, I used the launch command "CDINST" in the console. This time, the installation finished without incident."

Tim Calderone

Just a tip to pass on about installing NetWare 6 in VMware on Windows XP. During the install where you are prompted for what kind of install, my machine would just beep every time I pressed a key on the keyboard. I needed to use the arrows on the keyboard to hop between fields to make my selections so I was kind of stuck. After a frustrating amount of time I found out that the arrow keys on the keyboard's numerical keypad allowed me to move between selections on the screen.

Michael B

Feedback: Just to let you know that with a NetWare 6 SP3 ISO CD you can now install in VMware Workstation 4.0 without any hassle. I configured VMware with:

384mb ram
4GB hdd on ide 0:0
CDrom on ide 0:1
removed USB & Sound device
Did a plain install of Netware 6 and it worked first time :-) Following this I installed the nw5-idle.nlm and VMware tools.


Kannst Du hier nachlesen:
http://www.novell.com/coolsolutions/net ... re_nw.html

Member
Beiträge: 2
Registriert: 14.07.2004, 20:35

Beitragvon cortez » 15.07.2004, 17:15

Hallo,

vielen Dank für die Tipps!

Hab mich nun eine ganze Zeit mit der Novell Knowledgebase beschäftigt.

Die Sache mit dem Patch war sehr hilfreich-
gefixt wurde das Problem im SP 5,
hab mir über die TID 2969167 gesamt
NetWare 6 Support Pack 5 Overlay CD Image
runtergeladen.
Hat alles problemlos funktioniert.
Hab dann noch den Tip aus
http://www.novell.com/coolsolutions/net ... re_nw.html befolgt, die
NW5-idle.NLM einzuspielen. Klasse Sache, totale Entlastung der CPU.
Ich sehe nun den Wald... ;-)

Danke und Gruss
cortez


Zurück zu „VMware Workstation“

Wer ist online?

Mitglieder in diesem Forum: 0 Mitglieder und 5 Gäste