Die Foren-SW läuft ohne erkennbare Probleme. Sollte doch etwas nicht funktionieren, bitte gerne hier jederzeit melden und wir kümmern uns zeitnah darum. Danke!

NetWare 3.12 bei VMware

Hilfe bei Problemen mit der Installation und Benutzung der VMware Workstation und VMware Workstation Pro.

Moderatoren: irix, continuum, Dayworker

Member
Beiträge: 3
Registriert: 17.03.2004, 19:36

NetWare 3.12 bei VMware

Beitragvon MichaelW. » 21.06.2004, 19:38

Hallo,
ich versuche im Moment NetWare 3.12 auf einer virtuellen Maschiene von VMware Workstation 4.5.1 zu installieren. Er startet auch ohne Probleme allerdings werden aus irgendeinem Grund nicht alle Dateien kopiert. Ich vermute es liegt am IDE Treiber, gibt es vielleicht einen Treiber, der mit VMware kompatibel ist? Komischerweise habe ich keine Probleme partitionen unter Net Ware anzulegen und einige Dateien werden ja acuh kopiert.
Ich weiß offiziell läuft unter VMware Workstation kein NetWare 3.12, aber das heißt ja nur das es nicht unterstürzt wird, wahrscheinlich weil es schon älter ist.

Moderator
Beiträge: 317
Registriert: 02.03.2004, 22:50
Wohnort: Im Urlaub bis 02.08.2004
Kontaktdaten:

Anleitung für die Installation von Netware 3.x in VMware

Beitragvon HartmutSchaumburg » 21.06.2004, 21:34

Hallo Michael,

hier ist alles was Du brauchst:


How install Novell Netware 3.x on VMware


You Need the following patch
http://support.novell.com/servlet/filed ... dup5a.exe/
http://support.novell.com/servlet/filed ... 12ptd.exe/
http://support.novell.com/servlet/filed ... odi33g.exe
http://support.novell.com/servlet/filed ... b312d.exe/
http://support.novell.com/servlet/filed ... y2kp2.exe/
http://support.novell.com/servlet/filed ... baux1.exe/
http://support.novell.com/servlet/filed ... tsy2k.exe/
http://support.novell.com/servlet/filed ... 312ft.exe/

Driver
http://www.amd.com/us-en/assets/content ... _svr3x.exe

0) Configure a virtual machine with access to the CDROM drive and with
a virtual/plain disk that it can use to store its MS-DOS boot files and
its NetWare partition [which contains the SYS volume] configure in vm bios primary master DISK "LBA Mode COntrol" to DISABLE.

1) Use a MS-DOS v6.x bootable floppy disk to get started. Boot the
virtual machine from the floppy disk.

2) Manually create the DOS partition on the hard drive. Format the
partition, make it bootable and copy in the required MS-DOS files and
dosidle.exe Modify autoexec.bat for dosidle autostart.

3) Install Novell 3.12 how do you want, at question
"DO YOU WANT SPECIFY ANY SPECIAL STARTUP COMMANDS?" asnwer NO
"DO YOU WANT AUTOEXEC.BAT to load SERVER.EXE ?" asnwer NO
now shutdown netware and go to dos (Write DOWN and after EXIT on console)

4) now copy the extract cdup5a.exe file in novell dos directory
(c:\SERVER.312)
xcopy

5) create C:\SERVER.312\STARTUP.NCF

LOAD PM312.NLM
LOAD NPAPATCH.NLM
SET AUTO REGISTER MEMORY ABOVE 16 MEGABYTES = OFF
SET RESERVED BUFFERS BELOW 16 MEG = 200
LOAD IDEATA PORT=1F0 INT=E

6) Manually start SERVER.EXE, the system load the IDEATA.HAM driver ,
specifying the proper interrupt and I/O port information for the IDE
controllers in the VM. the drive load twice to
support emulated IDE devices on both the primary and secondary IDE
adapters in the VM.
Don't worry about warning you need other library for silent warning

7) Insert a file name server and an IPX network number

Load INSTALL.NLM and manually create the NetWare partition(s) and the SYS volume.

8 ) Once you have the SYS volume mounted, you can go about using
INSTALL.NLM to copy the rest of the server files from the installation
media. I enabled CDROM support to do this and completed the
installation using the CDROM mounted as a NetWare volume. However, you could leave a DOS CDROM driver and MSCDEX loaded and just access the installation CDROM via a drive letter such as D:.

9) uncompress odig33.exe and copy from FILE TO
SERVER\33SPEC\312 MSM31X.NLM,NB31X.NLM
c:\server.312\SERVER\33SPEC ETHERTSM.NLM
c:\server.312
after Copy pcntnw.lan e pcntw.ldi ( AMD Network Driver) in c:\server.312

Start server and add to AUTOEXEC.CNF
load c:\server.312\pcntnw slot=2 BIND IPX TO pcntnw NET=xxxx

10) copy nw4-idle.nlm in SYS:\SYSTEM and modify AUTOEXEC.CNF to load nw4-idle.nlm

11) Install the follow patch (follow instraction)
312ptd ,
dig33,
lib312d
312y2kp2
clibaux1
ttsy2k
ldr312ft

11) Be sure to get the NW4-IDLE.NLM file and load it on the 3.x server
to keep the VM from consuming 100% of the host CPU while the NetWare
server is idle.



Viel Erfolg

Hartmut Schaumburg


Zurück zu „VMware Workstation und VMware Workstation Pro“

Wer ist online?

Mitglieder in diesem Forum: 0 Mitglieder und 4 Gäste